Spreading the word: My recent presentation to 3rd year Ed students

Yesterday I gave one of my first (legitimate?) edtech presentations. I was asked to come and speak to the EPS 350 class at the University of Regina by one of my former instructors. This class consists of 3rd year secondary education students who are about to head into their 3 week field experience. The objective for my presentation was to give the students an introduction to teaching and learning with technology. I wanted to do this through introducing various tools for professional development and also things that can be used with a class. I talked mainly about E-portfolios/blogfolios, social bookmarking, and trying to create a “PLN“. There was a bunch of other things that I wanted to talk about including Google Apps for educators, Prezi, Jing etc. but 50 minutes just wasn’t enough time for me to cover that much stuff.

Overall I thought the presentation went well but I feel I could have made it more exciting and engaging. I spent a bit more time on e-portfolios than I wanted to, but they are creating portfolios in the class so I felt obligated to offer a lot of info there. Some things I would do to improve the presentation would be to have asked more questions and received some feedback from the class about what they already know or don’t know and what they want to know.

If you had 50 minutes to speak to a class of 3rd year education students what would you do? Which tools would you present to them? What ideas or thoughts would you discuss? What things would you do to make it engaging and interesting?

*Take a look at the brief outline of the presentation I gave.

3 responses to “Spreading the word: My recent presentation to 3rd year Ed students

  1. I think your outline covers most of the basics for starting out with technology. The only thing I would have added is something on readers because it is a way to collect information from blogs, wikis, nings, etc into one place.

  2. That must have been a really cool experience to do a presentation for the 3rd year ed students Jordan! Were you nervous? Were there a lot students there? Like Darin said, I think you covered the bare essentials for integrating technology into your teaching. Showing them about delicious.com or a social bookmarking website is awesome to share because they can go through and find web 2.0 tools on their own that they could encorporate into their classroom. I would have also shared interactive websites like blabberize.com, wordel.com or glogster.com because those are some of the things I got to use during my internship and they show the fun that you can have with web 2.o tools. But like you said, so much to share and so little time!

  3. @Ellyse I was a little nervous at first but not too much because it is all stuff I like to talk about. The suggestions you gave are definitely good ideas. It is tough to give a large overview in such a short period of time. It was nice to share some of the things we learn in ECMP as many secondary ed students just don’t have the room in their schedule to take it.

Leave a Reply

